Designated Area Migration Agreement (DAMA)

A Designated Area Migration Agreement (DAMA) is a formal agreement between the Australian Government and a regional, state or territory authority. It provides access to more overseas workers than the standard skilled migration program.


DAMA uses the Temporary Skill Shortage visa (subclass 482), Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional) (subclass 494) and Employer Nominated Scheme (subclass 186). Sponsors will enter into a labour agreement with the Australian Government and workers are then granted a Subclass 482 visa.

DAMA permits employers in designated areas to sponsor skilled and semi-skilled overseas workers for positions they are unable to fill with local workers. It is custom-made to address current and growing labour market shortages and local terms and conditions of employment. The DAMA is a labour agreement for a designated area that can provide access to a larger amount of occupations and may have lower requirements.

There are 12 DAMAs currently in place. They are :

  • Adelaide City Technology and Innovation Advancement, SA
  • East Kimberley, WA
  • Far North Queensland, QLD
  • Goulburn Valley, VIC
  • Great South Coast, VIC
  • Northern Territory, NT
  • Orana, NSW
  • Pilbara, WA
  • South Australia Regional, SA
  • South West, WA
  • The Goldfields, WA​​​​​
  • Townsville, QLD

For more information, you can get in touch with us at OR +61433 588377 (Australia) OR +603 2300 2380 (Malaysia).


Scroll to Top