Skilled Work Regional Visa (Subclass 491)

Skilled Work Regional was introduced by the federal government to encourage immigration to regional parts of Australia looking for economic and population growth.

Which areas are known as the regional parts in Australia?

Major cities that are considered regional areas are:

  • Perth
  • Adelaide
  • Canberra
  • Newcastle
  • Wollongong
  • Gold Coast
  • Darwin
  • Geelong
  • Tasmania

Whole of Australia is considered regional EXCEPT for Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney

There are 5 stages in subclass 491:

  • Step 1: Skill Assessment based on the applicants’ occupation. Skill Assessment is done by Skill Assessment Authorities such as VETASSESS, CPA, ACS, ANMAC and so on)
  • Step 2: Submission of Expression of Interest (EOI)
  • Step 3: State Application
  • Step 4: Receiving Invitation to Apply
  • Step 5: Visa is granted

In order to be invited for Subclass 491, applicant needs to :

  • be aged between 18-45 years old
  • have a positive skill assessment for an occupation on the State or Regional List
  • have Competent English or higher (6 minimum in IELTS)
  • have received a nomination by a Region or State to apply for the visa
  • meet the health and character requirements
  • meet minimum 65 points pass mark in Point Based Table

By getting invited for Subclass 491, applicant will be able enjoy the benefits of :

  1. staying in Australia for 5 years from the date visa has been granted
  2. living, working and studying in a designated region of Australia
  3. travelling to and from Australia while the visa valid
  4. applying for Permanent Residence after 3 years, if eligible
  5. bringing family members in applicants’ visa application
  6. granted an additionalย  15 points

Drop us an inquiry or call us at +603-23002380 or +6012-2381380 for more information. At Auslife Migration Consultants, we help you to breeze through the process and advise you the appropriate steps until your visa is granted.


Scroll to Top